top of page

Teenage internationals in England training squads

[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter"></v:stroke> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0"></v:f> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight"></v:f> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0"></v:f> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"></v:path> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"></o:lock> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_s1026" type="#_x0000_t75" alt="" style='position:absolute; margin-left:0;margin-top:0;width:300pt;height:300pt;z-index:251658240; mso-wrap-distance-left:7.5pt;mso-wrap-distance-top:7.5pt; mso-wrap-distance-right:7.5pt;mso-wrap-distance-bottom:7.5pt; mso-position-horizontal:left;mso-position-horizontal-relative:text; mso-position-vertical-relative:line' o:allowoverlap="f"> <v:imagedata src=""></v:imagedata> <w:wrap type="square"></w:wrap> </v:shape><![endif][if !vml][endif]Teenage internationals are among the players selected for the England Golf girls’ and boys’ squads for 2015/16.

Sammy Fuller and Hollie Muse have helped England to win the women’s Home Internationals and, with Annabel Bailey (Image © Leaderboard Photography), were in the successful girls’ team at their Home Internationals.

Meanwhile, Toby Briggs and Rhys Nevin-Wharton were in the England team for the boys’ Home Internationals. Briggs, with Jake Benson, Alex Fitzpatrick and Harry Goddard, helped England to a clean sweep of U16 Home Internationals.

The full squads are:

England Girls

Annabel Bailey (Kirby Muxloe), Louisa Brunt (Royal Birkdale), Sharna Dutrieux (Wrotham Heath), Sammy Fuller (Roehampton), Martha Lewis (St George’s Hill), Hollie Muse (West Lancashire), Emily Price (Cleobury Mortimer), Bel Wardle (Prestbury), Amelia Williamson (Royal Cromer).

Bailey, Fuller and Muse were all members of the squad last year. Five players have previously been members of regional squads: Brunt, the Lancashire girls’ champion; Dutrieux, who has had top ten finishes at the English girls’ championship, the Sir Henry Cooper Junior Masters and the Liphook scratch cup; Lewis, who had top tens in the English U16 and North of England U16 championships; Wardle, who was 10th in the British women’ stroke play, and Williamson, who won the West of England U16 championship and the English Schools’ national, U16 and South-East titles.

Price was third in both the English and Scottish U16 championships and won the English U15 title last year.

England Boys

Jake Benson (Beeston Fields), Toby Briggs (Dunston Hall), Oliver Clarke (Hillside), Alex Fitzpatrick (Hallamshire), Harry Goddard (Hanbury Manor), Rhys Nevin-Wharton (Sandiway) and Arrun Singh-Brar (Foxhills).

Three of the boys were in last year’s squad: Briggs, who tied for the English U16 title, only to lose in a play-off; Clarke, who was third in the Canadian International Junior Challenge and the Irish boys’ championship; and Nevin-Wharton, who was third in the Sir Henry Cooper Junior Masters.

Benson tied for the U16 title at the Carris Trophy and was third in the Scottish U16 championship. Fitzpatrick was third in the Italian U16s and fifth in the McGregor Trophy; Goddard won the North of England U16 and was third in the German Junior Masters; Singh-Brar had top tens in the Peter McEvoy Trophy, the German Junior Masters and in qualifying for the British boys’ championship.

bottom of page