Surrey Fives Team Inter-Club Final

This year’s final was played between Horton Park B and Silvermere B.

The format for this competition is a Club team of five players, each team to consist of two players with handicaps between 5 & 12 and three players with handicaps between 13 & 18. The handicaps are the playing handicaps on the day of the match. Games go out in handicap order playing match play with full difference being given. All matches are played to a finish to ensure there cannot be a tie. Clubs can enter two teams, an A and a B.

In getting to the Final both teams first had to win their way through five rounds in either the East of West sections to get to their Section Final.

Horton Park B had defeated London Scottish B, Woldingham B, Reigate Hill B, Walton Heath Artisans B and Wimbledon Common B, to reach the East Section Final where they beat Reigate Hill A.

In the West Section Silvermere B had overcome Bramley B, The Drift B, Burhill B, Merrist Wood B and Royal Mid-Surrey B to get to their section Final where they won against The Drift A.

The teams were

Horton Park B: Jamie Kapadia, Ian Waite, Tom Hitch, Greg Clarke & Andy Thorne.

Silvermere B: Adam Bruton, Steve Watts, Phil Asbury, Steve Armstrong & David James

Heavy rain had been forecast but fortunately the conditions turned out to be reasonable, the weather had come through earlier much to the relief of everyone and all the matches got underway on time.

Silvermere B took an early lead winning the first game only for Horton Park B to then win the second game at the 2nd extra hole to square things up, they then took the next two games to have an unassailable lead or 3-1. The last game was very close so the players and Captains agreed to a half as it would make no difference to the overall result, plus there were some very dark rain clouds looming and a beer and sandwich had been well earned.

The players from both sides had given their all, this showed with some good golf being played.

Congratulations to Horton Park the Surrey Fives Club Team Champions for 2019.

The trophy was presented by Jack Buchanan Surrey County President.