top of page

England Golf Awards 2022 - the winners take their bow

The unsung heroes and the champions of English amateur golf were last night honoured at the 2022 England Golf Awards sponsored by adidas.

Broadcaster and keen golfer Naga Munchetty hosted the event which was streamed live on England Golf’s YouTube channel.

Viewers enjoyed guest appearances from singer and presenter Fleur East, golfing royal Zara Tindall, tennis coach Judy Murray and England Golf ambassador Tommy Fleetwood as well as contributions from England Golf CEO Jeremy Tomlinson and our category winners.

The full awards ceremony is now available to view on the England Golf YouTube channel.

The awards are designed to recognise and reward individuals, teams, clubs and counties who have shone in the past year and made a positive contribution to the amateur game in this country.

There were 11 category winners announced, each with their own special tale to tell.

In 10 of the 11 categories, nominations were made by the public and a panel of 46 judges comprising experts from the golf industry, the media and England Golf staff had the unenviable task of picking one winner in each section.

The nominees for the Performance of the Year category were put forward and then judged by staff in the England Golf performance department led by director Nigel Edwards.

Each category winner receives an engraved glass trophy – supplied by Burridge London – to mark their achievement.

· Club of the Year – Hazel Grove GC (Cheshire)

· County of the Year (in association with Your Golf Travel) – Kent Golf

· Diversity and Inclusion Champion – Terry Kirby, Ganstead Park GC (Yorkshire)

· Participation and Development Coach of the Year – Aaron Cox, Blackwell Grange GC (Durham)

· Performance of the Year – England Women’s Squad

· Sustainability Project of the Year – Farleigh GC (Surrey)

· Tournament Venue of the Year – Farnham GC (Surrey)

· Volunteer of the Year – Alan Plumb, Strawberry Hill GC (Middlesex)

· Women and Girls’ Trailblazer – Hannah Crump, Stonebridge GC (Warwickshire)

· Young Ambassador of the Year (in association with the Golf Foundation) – Kai Williams, Bedford and County GC (Bedfordshire)

· Lifetime Service Award – Tommy Tulk, Long Sutton GC (Somerset)

England Golf CEO Jeremy Tomlinson praised the nominees and the winners for their outstanding contributions to the continued success of amateur golf in England. He commented: “It’s occasions like this which make me feel both humbled and proud to be involved with golf in England.

“Our wonderful game can only thrive if volunteers, coaches, club staff and county officials put in countless hours behind the scenes to improve the experience for all golfers.

“It’s important to shine a light on the work being done by those who do not court publicity, but who deserve to be recognised for their exceptional contributions.

“In England, we are extremely lucky to be blessed with so many incredible people who care so passionately about golf.

“My thanks go to Naga for presenting and our main sponsors adidas Golf, as well as Your Golf Travel and our colleagues at the Golf Foundation for helping us stage another successful awards night.

“But most of all I would like to thank our nominees and especially our winners for all they do to make sure amateur and club golf in England remains at the heart of our communities and a vital part of our sporting nation.”


bottom of page